Patterned Orchid

I love orchids!  They are so graceful, so delicate and oh so beautiful!  So it’s no surprise that this was first on my must have list in the new catty.  I had all sorts of coloring ideas, but as I was removing it from the case, it fell onto some DSP and that became the inspiration for this card.

20170610_211924

I started with Very Vanilla card stock for the front panel onto which I stamped the sentiment from the Climbing Orchid stamp set and then sketched out the curve of the branch.  I then used two of the branch stamps from that set to stamp along the curve and erased the pencil marks.  Next, I stamped the orchids in black on DSP from the Petal Garden stack and then fussy cut them out.  I did snip the bottom petals away from the middle ones just slightly so I could curl the middle ones and have them stand away from the others.  This gave them some much needed dimension.  Lastly, I added a little bit of crystal drops to the center of them and attached them to the branch with dimensionals.  I then glued the panel to a mat of DSP from the Whole Lot of Lovely paper series.  This was glued to another sheet of the Petal Garden DSP and lastly adhered to the card base of Old Olive.

The inside received another panel of Very Vanilla to which I added a border of the same DSP the orchids were stamped on.

Will I go back to coloring in images like this?  Absolutely!  But what fun to step outside the box and try something so different!

If you have any questions about how to make this card, or you need help with ordering the supplies for it, please drop me a comment and I will get back to you right away.  Happy Stamping!

 

3 thoughts on “Patterned Orchid

  1. Wow Linda, that is amazing!! I love the stamping on the DSP and your design is perfect! Love every detail! 🙂

    Like

  2. Ooooh, this is so pretty! I really like the patterned paper you used for the color of the orchids and the dimension is what really makes this come to life. Great job!

    Like

  3. […]  Linda is a stamper and new blogger from Conyers, GA and you can see the details about this card here.  Linda’s blog […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

