Daisy Take Two!

I admit it – I LOVE the Daisy suite!  It was a gloomy week with lots of ups and downs (and not just in the weather LOL) so it was nice to escape to the craft room and play with my favorite set.  This was my first time creating a double gate fold card and I found it not only easy but pretty fast too with very little paper trimming needed.  Plus, I just love cards that open to reveal a surprise.

Gatefold

It started with a sheet of paper from the Delightful Daisy designer paper series.  This was trimmed down to 5-1/2 x 12″ and then scored at 2″, 4″, 8″ and 10″.  Next I measured up 2-3/4″ from the bottom on each side and made a mark on the paper, then trimmed from that mark up to the top of the second fold on each side to get the perfect slant.  Score lines were folded and burnished and I was halfway there!  I took the bits from cutting the slant and glued them to each side at the bottom to break up the paper design a bit, adding more interest.

Now for the surprise on the inside:

Gatefold inside

Ta da!  I cut a piece of Whisper White card stock to 5″ x 3-3/4″ and stamped the poor previously neglected small flowers and stems from the Daisy Delight stamp set.  I tell ya, I think I like these little beauties as much as I do the large daisy!  The daisies were stamped in Peekaboo Peach, the cone flowers in Sugarplum stamped off and the stems in Tranquil Tide stamped off.  The sentiment is from the Beautiful You stamp set done in Tranquil Tide again stamped off.

To close the card I attached a piece of Tranquil Tide ribbon with tape to the back (you will need more of this than you think so be generous), brought it around to the front and tied it in a side bow.  The finishing touch is the Gerbera daisy.  To achieve this nice full look you need to punch 3 of the daisies out and attach them to each other with dimensionals.  I then stamped the center onto Tranquil Tide card stock and punched it out, gluing it to the daisy with Tombow multi glue.  This is then attached to the ribbon with a glue dot.

And that’s it!  Sounds like a lot of work but it really goes quickly – I made this card in under an hour start to finish!

Hope you enjoy this little bit of sunshine on a rainy day!  All of the supplies used can be purchased in my store.  Please let me know if you need any help with that and thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “Daisy Take Two!

  1. Wow Linda, that is amazing! The colors are just perfect and your daisy is beautiful! Stunning!

    Like

  2. These are one of my most favorite cards to make and WOW! The Daisy DSP really makes this design just soar! Sometimes it is all about the DSP!

    Like

  3. geraldine homenchuk

    Absolutely LOVE your card too! And the whole Delightful Daisy suite really is one of the best in the whole catalogue, and can hardly wait to get mine! Your card is perfection itself though. TFS!

    Like

  4. Just beautiful, Linda! Love the tip on making the daisy! Gonna have to give that a shot! 🙂

    Like

  5. […] is a stamper and blogger from Conyers, GA and you can see more details about this card on her blog here.  Linda’s blog […]

    Like

  6. This is a stunning card, and I can’t wait to try it! I found your blog through Amy K, and I’m so glad I did! Beautiful inside and out! TFS!

    Like

  7. Beautiful card Linda. Will have to try this sometime. Maybe today. I have to make a birthday card. I love the smaller flowers in the Daisy set, which, as you said, are often overlooked.

    Like

  8. LOL…Totally overlooked little flowers–I had to go look at the package to see them!! But I love them and your card is fantastic! TFS.

    Like

  9. Card is gorgeous! I really love the colors together. You did a beautiful job. It’s saddening and disheartening that this product is unable to be ordered !

    Like

  10. floridaperson

    Your card is so beautiful. I love how you manipulated the DSP to make an amazing card. Thanks for sharing the instructions. This is a “must try”.

    Like

  11. Can you make a video for Daisy Take 2? I need a little more visual. Beautiful Card! Ginger

    Like

    • Hi Ginger! Thanks for your kind words! I also am a visual person so understand how you feel. Am still learning about making videos but as soon as I can iron out the bumps and do a decent one I promise this one will be the first I post to my blog so stay tuned!

      Like

Leave a Reply

